Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park

AerospaceMuseumDayton, OHOpen

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

Six-unit National Park Service park in and around Dayton on the Wright brothers and Paul Laurence Dunbar: a downtown interpretive center and cycle shop, Huffman Prairie, and partner museums.

Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park
Photo: Chris Light at English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

Wright-Dunbar Interpretive Center and Wright Cycle Company (self-guided; cycle shop tours start at the center) Open

What you see
Exhibits, Visitor centernps.gov, 2026-10-26
How
Walk innps.gov, 2026-10-26
When
MonTueWedThuFriSatSunWednesday to Sunday 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Monday, Tuesday, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.Closed: Mondays and Tuesdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Daynps.gov, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not statedReservations are required for school groups and large groups; the pages say nothing for individual visitors.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
Cost
FreeNo entrance pass required at the NPS-managed units.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: No ID rule is stated for this unit.nps.gov, 2026-10-26

    Huffman Prairie Flying Field and Interpretive Center (Wright-Patterson Air Force Base) Open

    On an active military base; the park says the memorial is open to the public but does not describe any gate checks.

    What you see
    Exhibits, Grounds, Visitor centernps.gov, 2026-10-26
    How
    Walk innps.gov, 2026-10-26
    When
    MonTueWedThuFriSatSunInterpretive center Wednesday to Sunday 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; the park says its grounds are open every day in daylight.Closed: Mondays and Tuesdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Daynps.gov, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Not statedReservations are required for school groups and large groups; the pages say nothing for individual visitors.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    FreeFree; the Flying Field is reached by Gate 16A off State Route 444.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    None stated.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The park calls it an active military installation open to the public; no ID rule is stated, so confirm with the park before going.nps.gov, 2026-10-26

      Paul Laurence Dunbar House (tours) Open

      What you see
      Inside tournps.gov, 2026-10-26
      How
      Scheduled tournps.gov, 2026-10-26
      When
      MonTueWedThuFriSatSunFriday to Sunday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; last tour begins at 3:30 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Daynps.gov, 2026-10-26 · nps.gov, 2026-10-26
      Booking
      Not statedOther times are available for school and large groups by advance reservation; the pages do not say individuals need to book.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
      Cost
      Freenps.gov, 2026-10-26
      Requirements
      None stated.
        Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: No ID rule is stated.nps.gov, 2026-10-26

        Dayton History at Carillon Historical Park (Wright Brothers National Museum) Open

        What you see
        Exhibits, Groundsnps.gov, 2026-10-26
        How
        Walk innps.gov, 2026-10-26
        When
        MonTueWedThuFriSatSunMonday to Saturday 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Sunday noon to 5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, December 24 and 25, New Year’s Eve and Day.Closed: Thanksgiving Day, December 24 and 25, New Year's Eve and Daynps.gov, 2026-10-26
        Booking
        Not statedReservations are required for school groups and large groups; the pages say nothing for individual visitors.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
        Cost
        PaidAdult: $12 · Senior (60+): $10 · Child (3-17): $8Partner site with its own admission; members free.nps.gov, 2026-10-26
        Requirements
        None stated.
          Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: No ID rule is stated.nps.gov, 2026-10-26

          About

          The park covers the places where the Wright brothers ran their bicycle business and learned to fly. This listing covers four units a visitor can go into: the Wright-Dunbar Interpretive Center and Wright Cycle Company in downtown Dayton, the Huffman Prairie Flying Field and its interpretive center on an active Air Force base, the Dunbar House, and the Wright Brothers National Museum at Carillon Historical Park, which charges its own admission. Most NPS-run units are free and open Wednesday to Sunday.

          Owner: National Park Service. Run by: National Park Service, with partner sites.

          Getting there

          16 South Williams Street, Dayton, OH, 45402

          Six-unit park. The Wright-Dunbar Interpretive Center is downtown; the Huffman Prairie Flying Field Interpretive Center is about 10 miles east on Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, near the Air Force museum.

          The pin marks the visitor entrance (39.75569, -84.21195). Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

          Park visitor information: 937-345-0433

          Last checked 2026-10-26. Sources are listed below.

          Sources

          Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.