Kitt Peak National Observatory Visitor Center

Formerly Kitt Peak National Observatory

ObservatoryTucson, AZOpen

Two NOIRLab pages disagree on tour times and prices; this listing follows the visitor center's own site, which looks newer. See trust.conflicts. The Visitor Center observatory lift (the only elevator at any observatory) is under repair, per the nighttime programs page.

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

Visitor center of a mountaintop observatory west of Tucson, with guided daytime telescope tours and a nightly stargazing program. Both are paid and reservations are recommended.

Kitt Peak National Observatory Visitor Center
Photo: NOIRLab, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

Visitor Center (exhibits, store, snacks) Open

Hours come from the older NOIRLab public page; the visitor center's own site gives no separate hours.

What you see
Visitor center, Exhibitskpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
How
Walk innoirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
When
MonTueWedThuFriSatSunOpen 7 days a week, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Arizona time. Only guests registered for a nighttime program may visit after 4 p.m.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26 · kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on siteNo tickets are required for the visitor center itself. The telescopes can be visited only on a tour.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
Cost
Not stated on the official pageThe page says no tickets are required but does not use the word free. Snacks and drinks are sold in the visitor center.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: No ID rule for the visitor center. The plan page says foreign visitors need a passport or green card at the Border Control checkpoint on Arizona route 86.Fitness and accessibility: The walk from the parking lot to the visitor center is about 150 feet.kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26

    Guided daytime telescope tours Open

    The visitor center says telescopes are occasionally closed for maintenance and it tries to alert visitors to changes.

    What you see
    Inside tour, Exhibitskpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    How
    Scheduled tour, Timed ticket · up to 25 peoplekpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    When
    Offered all week, 1 to 1.5 hours each. Daily schedule: McMath-Pierce Solar Telescope at 10:00 a.m., the 2.1-meter telescope at 11:30 a.m., the Mayall 4-meter telescope at 1:30 p.m. A calendar on the tours page shows which tours run on a given date.Calendar ↗kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Not stated · onlineAdvance reservation is strongly recommended and spaces are limited to 25 guests per tour. The page does not say whether walk-up tickets are sold.Book (kpno.noirlab.edu) ↗kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    PaidDaytime tour, regular: $24.95 · Daytime tour, discounted (seniors 62+, groups of 8+, active duty military with ID): $19.95 · Daytime tour, youth 8 to 16: $17.95Free for ASTC members and household family members (card checked on arrival) and for Tohono O'odham Nation members (tribal ID checked). A combo price for all three tours and a lunch add-on exist.kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    • Fitness and accessibility: Yes. Walking, standing and, for the 2.1 m and 4 m tours, climbing 2 to 3 flights of stairs at 7,000 feet. Only the 10 a.m. McMath-Pierce tour has no stairs.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Minimum age: Youth under 8: the page asks families to contact the visitor center before booking. Strollers are not permitted.Photo ID: ID is checked on arrival only for military, student, ASTC and Tohono O'odham discounts.kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26

    Nightly Observing Program (evening stargazing with a light meal) Open

    Weather call around 10 a.m. to noon on the day; in poor weather an alternate astronomy program or a free reschedule is offered. When sold out, an overflow Hiking Nightly Observing Program may be listed. Lift notice (read 2026-11-02): the Visitor Center observatory lift, the only elevator at any of Kitt Peak's observatories, is under repair and not available. The page gives no end date; contact the visitor center well ahead if you may need it.

    What you see
    Exhibits, Inside tourkpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    How
    Scheduled tour, Timed ticket · up to 45 people · about 4.5 hourskpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    When
    Runs nightly all year, about 4.5 hours. Check-in by season: Jan-Feb 4:30 pm, Mar-Apr 5:30 pm, May-Jun and Jul-Aug 6:00 pm, Sep-Oct 4:45 pm, Nov-Dec 4:00 pm. Program ends about 8:30 to 10:30 pm depending on the season.Calendar ↗kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Not stated · same day possible · onlineBooking at least 1 month ahead is recommended. Reservations made after 1:30 pm on the day get no meal; the fee is the same.Book (kpno.noirlab.edu) ↗kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    PaidNightly Observing Program, per person: $89Discounts for seniors 62+, youth, groups of 8+ and active duty military (amounts not stated). Free for Tohono O'odham Nation members. Includes a turkey or vegetarian sandwich. No refunds for weather beyond the reschedule option.kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    • Fitness and accessibility: Yes. Sunset viewing is about 300 yards uphill from the visitor center; transport can be arranged. Guests may not leave early except in an emergency. The Visitor Center observatory lift (the only elevator at any observatory) is under repair and unavailable; no end date is given.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Minimum age: Designed for adults and older children; not recommended under 8. The page does not call it a ban.Photo ID: ID is checked on arrival only for Tohono O'odham members. The plan page says foreign visitors need a passport or green card at the route 86 checkpoint.kpno.noirlab.edu, 2026-10-26

    About

    Kitt Peak is a research observatory at about 7,000 feet in the Quinlan Mountains on Tohono O'odham Nation land. The visitor center is open daily, and the telescopes can be seen only on a docent-led daytime tour or in an evening program that includes a light meal and telescope viewing. Tours involve stairs and uphill walking, and visitors drive 54 miles from Tucson. A separate overnight observing program and a lunch add-on exist but are not covered here.

    Run by: NSF NOIRLab (Kitt Peak National Observatory), on land of the Tohono O'odham Nation.

    Where official pages disagree

    Getting there

    Tucson, AZ, 85634

    The visitor center is at the end of Arizona route 386, about 54 miles west of Tucson on the Tohono O'odham Nation; the site says to allow at least a 90-minute drive from downtown Tucson. There is no fuel on the mountain.

    The pin marks the site itself, not necessarily the entrance (31.95833, -111.59667). Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

    Kitt Peak Visitor Center: +1 520 318 8739 · kpvc@noirlab.edu

    Last checked 2026-11-02. Sources are listed below.

    Sources

    Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.