Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)
Two ways into Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory: the Discovery Center exhibit hall (walk in, weekdays noon to 4 p.m.) and the lab's own guided site tour, which needs registration and badging.
Ways to visit
Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided) Open
Hours are subject to change, per the page.
- What you see
- Exhibits, Visitor centerllnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- How
- Walk inllnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- When
- MonTueWedThuFriSatSunMonday to Friday, noon to 4 p.m.; final guest check-in 3:45 p.m.; closed on major holidays; hours subject to change.Closed: Major holidaysllnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- Booking
- Not statedThe page says only that groups of 10 or more should contact the center.llnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- Cost
- Not stated on the official pageThe page says it is open to the public but gives no price.llnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- Requirements
- Photo ID: Yes. Visitors 18 and older: U.S. citizens bring a government-issued REAL ID or U.S. passport; foreign nationals bring a passport or legal permanent residence card.
- Citizenship: No. Foreign nationals are accepted with a passport or permanent residence card.
Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration) Open
The tours page offers registration. Its schedule, eligibility and requirements are not stated here: check the registration site.
- What you see
- Inside tourllnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- How
- Scheduled tour · up to 15 peoplellnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- When
- Dates and times are on the registration site's Tour Schedule page; they are not stated here.llnl.cventevents.com (agency or tourism page), 2026-10-27 · llnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- Booking
- Required · onlineRegistration is required and drop-ins are not permitted. How far ahead to register is not stated.Book (llnl.cventevents.com) ↗llnl.cventevents.com (agency or tourism page), 2026-10-27
- Cost
- Not stated on the official pageNo price is given.llnl.gov, 2026-10-27
- Requirements
- Photo ID: Yes. To be admitted to the lab, one REAL ID-compliant document or one item each from List A and List B; badge issued at the Westgate Badge Office.
About
LLNL is a Department of Energy laboratory with a secured main site. The Discovery Center, in the Livermore Valley Open Campus outside the main site, is an exhibit hall you can walk into on weekdays, with a replica of the National Ignition Facility target chamber. The lab also runs a separate guided main site tour, with a docent and a small group, that includes the National Ignition Facility; it requires registration (no drop-ins) and entry to the lab is badged. The tour pages do not give its dates, eligibility rules or how far ahead to register, so check them before you plan.
Owner: U.S. Department of Energy. Run by: Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.
Where official pages disagree
- Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): group size: The tours page says up to 15 people; the registration site says up to 17. This listing follows the tours page. llnl.gov/community-education/tours · llnl.cventevents.com/event/LaboratoryTourProgram/s…
Getting there
2400 Greenville Road, Livermore, CA, 94550
The Discovery Center is at 2400 Greenville Road, in the Livermore Valley Open Campus at East Gate Drive and Greenville Road. The pin marks that address. The main site tour goes inside the secured lab; badging is at the Westgate Badge Office off Vasco Road.
The pin marks the visitor entrance (37.68603, -121.69671). Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps
Discovery Center: 925-423-3272 · discoverycenter@llnl.gov
Last checked 2026-10-27. Sources are listed below.
More on the official page: llnl.cventevents.com/event/LaboratoryTourProgram/s…. Check it before you go.
Sources
- llnl.gov/community-education/discovery… · official page · read 2026-10-27For: name; directions; who runs it; phone and email; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): open or closed; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): what you see; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): kind of visit; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): days and hours; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): booking; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): cost; Discovery Center exhibits (self-guided): requirements
- llnl.gov/community-education/tours · official page · read 2026-10-27For: name; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): open or closed; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): what you see; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): kind of visit; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): cost
- llnl.cventevents.com/event/LaboratoryTourProgram/s… · official tourism or agency page · read 2026-10-27For: location; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): days and hours; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): booking
- llnl.gov/about/visiting · official page · read 2026-10-27For: directions; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): requirements; Main site tour of the laboratory (by registration): photo ID
- Other source · read 2026-10-27For: Google Maps link
Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.