Mount Washington Cog Railway

InfrastructureMuseumBretton Woods, NHSeasonal

Summit trips run through November 1, 2026; winter trips to Waumbek Station start November 2 and run through April 2027.

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

Rack-and-pinion railway opened in 1869 that climbs Mount Washington from a base station in Bretton Woods; summit trips in autumn, shorter winter trips to Waumbek Station.

Mount Washington Cog Railway
Photo: King of Hearts, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

Summit round trip (diesel and steam) Seasonal

Post-season summit excursions extended through November 1, 2026; the summit buildings themselves are closed for the winter and weather can shorten trips.

What you see
Inside tour, Groundsthecog.com, 2026-10-26
How
Timed ticket · about 3 hoursthecog.com, 2026-10-26
When
Trains leave the base station on a daily timetable shown when buying tickets. Arrive at least 45 minutes before departure; boarding starts 15 minutes before.Season: 2026-11-01 (Steam trains ran Thursday to Sunday at 9:00 a.m. and 2:45 p.m. from July 10, 2026; the page does not say when they end.)thecog.com, 2026-10-26 · thecog.com, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · online or by phone or on siteReservations are not required but many trains sell out; assigned seating, so booking is highly recommended.Book ↗thecog.com, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidAdult and child fares; current base prices were not given. Children under 4 on a ticketed adult's lap ride free.thecog.com, 2026-10-26
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: ID is only needed to claim a discount.thecog.com, 2026-10-26

    Winter trip to Waumbek Station Seasonal

    Starts November 2, 2026.

    What you see
    Inside tour, Groundsthecog.com, 2026-10-26
    How
    Timed ticket · about 60 minutesthecog.com, 2026-10-26
    When
    Round trip about one hour with a stop of about 25 to 30 minutes at Waumbek Station (about 4,000 feet) with viewing decks, hot drinks and a fire pit. The timetable is shown when buying tickets.Season: 2026-11-02 to 2027-04-30 (Page says through April, 2027 and elsewhere until early May.)thecog.com, 2026-10-26 · thecog.com, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Not required · online or by phone or on siteReservations are not required but trains sell out; booking is recommended.Book ↗thecog.com, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    PaidWaumbek-only fares are lower than the summit fare; the refund policy cites $57 adult and $43 child as the reduced rate for a shortened trip, not a list price.thecog.com, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    None stated.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.thecog.com, 2026-10-26

      About

      The Cog Railway carries passengers up the highest peak in the Northeast on a cog-and-rack track first opened in 1869. Most trains are biodiesel locomotives built on site, with two coal-fired steam engines running in summer and fall. A summit round trip takes just under three hours with about an hour at the top, where the visitor facilities belong to New Hampshire State Park and close for winter. From November 2 trains stop at Waumbek Station, about 4,000 feet up, for a roughly one-hour round trip.

      Run by: Mount Washington Cog Railway.

      Getting there

      Bretton Woods, NH

      Marshfield Base Station is reached from Route 302 near the Omni Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, on the Base Station Road. The site warns GPS can send you to the wrong side of the mountain.

      The pin marks the site itself, not necessarily the entrance (44.27389, -71.33194). Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

      Ticket office: (603) 278-5404

      Last checked 2026-10-26. Sources are listed below.

      Sources

      Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.