National Museum of Nuclear Science & History

MuseumAlbuquerque, NMOpen

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

Albuquerque museum on the Atomic Age, from the Manhattan Project to peaceful nuclear technology, with indoor galleries, a nine-acre outdoor aircraft and missile park, and an artifact center.

National Museum of Nuclear Science & History
Photo: AllenS, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

General admission (galleries and Heritage Park) Open

What you see
Exhibits, Groundsnuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
How
Walk innuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
When
MonTueWedThuFriSatSunOpen daily 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., closed on New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day.Closed: New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas Daynuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26 · nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · online or on siteAdvance online tickets aren't required; buy at the front desk on arrival. The museum suggests buying online in the same week as the visit but won't turn you away if the visit falls later.Book (nuclearmuseum.org) ↗nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidAdults 18-59: $24 · Seniors 60+: $22 · Youth 6-17: $22 · Veterans and active military (spouse/partner and minor dependents): $12 · Young children (under 5, or 5 and under; pages differ): freePrices can rise at busy times; the website is the museum's source for current prices. Pages differ on the free age (under 5 vs 5 and under). The page says New Mexico resident prices need a photo ID with a resident address.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
  • Photography: Yes. Personal photography and video are allowed; don't record other visitors without permission.
  • Fitness and accessibility: No. Public entrances and most exhibit areas are accessible to wheelchairs, scooters, strollers and walkers. Heritage Park is outdoors with uneven surfaces and loose gravel.
Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, safety gear, personal details in advance.Photo ID: Only needed to claim New Mexico resident prices, per the hours page. No ID rule for entry is stated. The museum is on federal property and bans firearms and other weapons.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26 · nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26

Museum Artifact Center (add-on) Open

What you see
Exhibitsnuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
How
Walk innuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
When
MonTueWedThuFriSatSunSelf-guided, daily 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The museum itself is closed on New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day.Closed: New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas Daynuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26 · nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on siteAdd the ticket at the front desk on arrival, or scan the QR code at the Artifact Center entrance or nearby signs. Needs paid general admission.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidAdd-on, adult: $10 · Add-on, youth 6-17: $5 · Museum members: freeOn top of paid general admission. Prices can rise at busy times.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: No ID rule is stated.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26

    Group tours (self-guided or docent-guided) Open

    What you see
    Exhibits, Inside tour, Groundsnuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
    How
    Groups only, By arrangement · groups of 10+nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
    When
    Booked in advance for a date you choose. Allow 60 to 90 minutes for a self-guided visit and 60 to 75 minutes for a docent-guided History, Science or General tour. One docent per about 25 visitors.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Required · online or by phoneReserve with the online form or by phone at (505) 245-2137, ext. 103. Prepayment is required at scheduling to get the group rate. Free admission passes aren't valid for docent-led tours.Book (nuclearmuseum.org) ↗nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    PaidSelf-guided group, out-of-state, per person: $19 · Self-guided group, New Mexico resident, per person: $17 · Docent-guided group, out-of-state, per person: $21 · Docent-guided group, New Mexico resident, per person: $19Group rates apply to groups of 10 or more.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    None stated.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The page states no ID rule.nuclearmuseum.org, 2026-10-26

      About

      This independent nonprofit museum, chartered by Congress, tells the story of nuclear science and the Atomic Age. General admission covers the indoor galleries and Heritage Park, a nine-acre outdoor area with aircraft, missiles and rockets. A separate add-on ticket opens the Museum Artifact Center, a self-guided display of preserved, unclassified nuclear weapons and related equipment that had been out of public view for nearly 25 years. Groups of 10 or more can book self-guided or docent-led tours.

      Run by: National Atomic Museum Foundation (independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit; a Smithsonian Affiliate).

      Where official pages disagree

      Getting there

      601 Eubank Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM, 87123

      At Eubank and Southern, six blocks south of Central Avenue and off Interstate 40, exit 165, east of Kirtland Air Force Base in the Sandia Science and Technology Park.

      The pin marks the site itself, not necessarily the entrance (35.06621, -106.53363). Apple Maps directions go to the street address instead. Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

      Museum: (505) 245-2137Group tours: (505) 245-2137 ext. 103

      Last checked 2026-10-26. Sources are listed below.

      Sources

      Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.