Oregon Rail Heritage Center

MuseumInfrastructurePortland, OROpen

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

Portland museum housing historic locomotives, exhibits and a machine shop, open Thursday to Sunday afternoons, with seasonal weekend train rides.

Oregon Rail Heritage Center
Photo: Steve Morgan, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

Center admission: locomotives, exhibits and machine shop Open

What you see
Exhibitsorhf.org, 2026-11-05
How
Walk inorhf.org, 2026-11-05
When
MonTueWedThuFriSatSunThursday to Sunday, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time. Closed New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.Closed: New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Dayorhf.org, 2026-11-05
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on site or onlineTickets can be bought on site or in advance online.Book ↗orhf.org, 2026-11-05
Cost
PaidAdult (14+): $6 · Senior (65+): $5 · Military (with ID): $5 · Child (3-13): $4Under 3 and members are free. Train excursions are not included.orhf.org, 2026-11-05
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The military rate needs a military ID; no other ID rule is stated.Minimum age: Children are admitted; no minimum age is stated.orhf.org, 2026-11-05

    Weekend train rides (Springwater Corridor) Seasonal

    The 2026 season ended October 11; the 2027 dates are not posted yet.

    What you see
    Exhibitsorhf.org, 2026-11-05
    How
    Timed ticketorhf.org, 2026-11-05
    When
    MonTueWedThuFriSatSunSaturdays and Sundays in season; departures at 1, 2, 3 and 4 p.m. Arrive 20 minutes early.Season: 2026-05-23 to 2026-10-11 (Saturdays and Sundays from summer through fall. Check the 2027 dates before you go.)orhf.org, 2026-11-05
    Booking
    Not stated · onlineAdvance ticket purchase is recommended.Book ↗orhf.org, 2026-11-05
    Cost
    PaidAdult (14+): $17 · Child (3-13): $12 · Senior (65+) or military: $15 · Family pass (2 adults, 2 children): $50Service charges apply to each ticket. Center admission is included. Under 3 ride free on a lap.orhf.org, 2026-11-05
    Requirements
    • Photo ID: Yes. The military fare needs a military ID at check-in.
    • Fitness and accessibility: Yes. Riders must climb 7 stairs to board and walk about 85 feet to a seat; wheelchairs, mobility devices and strollers are not permitted on the railcars.
    Not stated on the official page: citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.orhf.org, 2026-11-05 · orhf.org, 2026-11-05

    About

    The Oregon Rail Heritage Center, run by the Oregon Rail Heritage Foundation, shows historic locomotives, exhibits and a machine shop beside the Willamette River. Admission is by ticket, bought on site or online, and the Center opens Thursday to Sunday from 1 to 5 p.m. From May to October, weekend excursions leave from the Center behind a diesel locomotive. Holiday and themed steam trains are separate special events and are not covered here.

    Run by: Oregon Rail Heritage Foundation.

    Getting there

    2250 SE Water Avenue, Portland, OR, 97214

    Free parking is under the Highway 99 viaduct, across the MAX tracks from the front of the building. Train crossings nearby can delay arrival.

    The pin marks the site itself, not necessarily the entrance (45.50731, -122.66172). Apple Maps directions go to the street address instead. Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

    Oregon Rail Heritage Center: (503) 233-1156

    Last checked 2026-11-05. Sources are listed below.

    Sources

    Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.