Space Center Houston

MuseumAerospaceHouston, TXOpen

The accessibility page says the Independence Plaza elevators are under maintenance. NASA can close tram-tour buildings without notice.

How to visit: official page ↗Open in Google MapsApple MapsSatellite view

NASA Johnson Space Center's official visitor center in Houston, with space exhibits and open-air tram tours onto the working NASA campus, including Historic Mission Control.

Space Center Houston
Photo: Shujianyang, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Ways to visit

General admission (self-guided visitor center) Open

Hours change by date; the home page showed 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on 2026-10-26.

What you see
Exhibits, Visitor centerspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
How
Timed ticketspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
When
Hours vary by date and are published as a calendar. The hours page lists 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. or 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the days shown and Christmas Day closed; the home page showed 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on 2026-10-26 (Galaxy Frights season). Check the calendar for your date.Closed: Christmas DayCalendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26 · spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not stated · same day possible · online or on siteOnline tickets carry an entry time, and the page says to arrive in that window. Tickets are also sold at the on-site box office and kiosks at a higher price. Members don't need a reserved time.Book (tickets.spacecenter.org) ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidAdult (12+), buy online, from (range $29.95 to $39.95): $29.95 · Senior (65+), buy online, from (range $27.95 to $37.95): $27.95 · Kid (4-11), buy online, from (range $24.95 to $34.95): $24.95 · Child (3 and younger): freeParking per vehicle (plus a service fee): $10 · Simulator rides, per person (lowest of $8 to $10; not in admission): $8Prices are ranges. The on-site box office and kiosk prices are about $5 higher (adult $34.95 to $44.95).spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
  • Photography: Yes. Photography is welcome except inside the theaters. Tripods, selfie sticks, drones and large camera gear are not allowed.
Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The page states no ID rule. All bags are screened by security before entry; weapons, drones, tripods and masks are not allowed.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26

NASA Campus Tram Tour Open

Subject to availability; weather or NASA building closures can change or stop it.

What you see
Groundsspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
How
Timed ticketspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
When
Runs during Space Center Houston's opening hours; the last tour departs two hours before closing. The tours last 60 to 90 minutes depending on which one you pick.Calendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on siteFirst come, first served for guests on site. Pick up a timed boarding pass at the Guest Services desk when you arrive; the page recommends an early entry time. Passes can't be booked online.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidGeneral admission, adult (12+), buy online, from: $29.95No extra charge beyond general admission, which is required.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
  • Photography: Yes. Crew members point out photo restrictions on the tours.
Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The tram tour pages state no ID rule.Citizenship: The tram tour pages state no citizenship rule.Fitness and accessibility: Open-air tram with some walking. No strollers (park them by the queue). Restroom access on the tour is very limited.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26 · spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Languages
Guides: English

Astronaut Training Facility Tram Tour Open

Subject to availability; NASA can reroute or close it at a moment's notice.

What you see
Inside tourspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
How
Timed ticketspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
When
Runs during Space Center Houston's opening hours; the last tour departs two hours before closing. The tours last 60 to 90 minutes depending on which one you pick.Calendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26 · spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on siteFirst come, first served for guests on site. Go to the Guest Services desk first when you enter to get a timed boarding pass; the page recommends an early entry time. Passes can't be booked online.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidGeneral admission, adult (12+), buy online, from: $29.95No extra charge beyond general admission, which is required.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
  • Photography: Yes. Crew members point out photo restrictions on the tours.
Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The tram tour pages state no ID rule.Citizenship: The tram tour pages state no citizenship rule.Fitness and accessibility: Open-air tram; the facility is seen from an elevated walkway. No strollers. Restroom access on the tour is very limited.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Languages
Guides: English

George W.S. Abbey Rocket Park Tram Tour Open

Subject to availability; weather or NASA building closures can affect it.

What you see
Grounds, View from outsidespacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
How
Walk inspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
When
Runs during Space Center Houston's opening hours; the last tour departs two hours before closing. The tours last 60 to 90 minutes depending on which one you pick.Calendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Booking
Not required · same day possible · on siteFirst come, first served for guests on site. Join the queue at the tram tours boarding area; no physical boarding pass is needed. Can't be booked online.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Cost
PaidGeneral admission, adult (12+), buy online, from: $29.95No extra charge beyond general admission, which is required.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
Requirements
None stated.
    Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The tram tour pages state no ID rule.Citizenship: The tram tour pages state no citizenship rule.Fitness and accessibility: Open-air tram, then a self-guided walk around the rocket park. No strollers on the tram. Restroom access on the tour is very limited.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    Languages
    Guides: English

    Historic Mission Control Tram Tour Open

    Subject to availability; NASA can close buildings to visitors without notice.

    What you see
    Inside tourspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    How
    Timed ticketspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    When
    Runs during Space Center Houston's opening hours; the last tour departs two hours before closing. The tours last 60 to 90 minutes depending on which one you pick. It often sells out days ahead on weekends, holidays and school breaks.Calendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    Booking
    Required · onlineMust be booked in advance when you buy general admission online; it can't be bought without general admission. The page suggests booking at least 2 weeks ahead.Book (tickets.spacecenter.org) ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    Cost
    PaidExtra cost on top of general admission; the price isn't shown. Members get 50% off.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
    Requirements
    None stated.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, minimum age, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The tram tour pages state no ID rule.Citizenship: The tram tour pages state no citizenship rule.Fitness and accessibility: Open-air tram. No strollers on the tram. Bags aren't allowed inside Historic Mission Control.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Languages
      Guides: English

      NASA VIP Tours Temporarily closed

      The page says VIP Tours are currently unavailable. It doesn't say when they will return.

      What you see
      Inside tourspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      How
      Scheduled tour, Groups only · up to 10 people · about 3 hoursspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      When
      MonTueWedThuFriSatSunWhen offered: weekdays only, excluding federal holidays, as two three-hour trips departing at 9 a.m. (Mission Control stops) and 1 p.m. (Astronaut Training stops). Check-in is 15 minutes before departure.Closed: federal holidaysspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Booking
      Required · closes 1 days ahead · same day possible · online or by phone or on siteOnline reservations are due at least one day ahead; seats left over may be bought at the Guest Services desk on the day. Tours often sell out far in advance. Not bookable now while the tours are unavailable.Book (spacecenter.org) ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Cost
      PaidPer person, per tour (includes general admission): $199.95Refunds need cancellation two weeks ahead. Discounts and coupons can't be applied.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Requirements
      • Minimum age: 14+. Guests 14 to 17 must be accompanied by a paying adult who is also on the tour.
      • Safety gear: Yes. Closed-toe shoes are required.
      • Photography: Yes. Phones may be used for photos in approved areas; phone calls aren't allowed in the van or buildings.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, height, fitness and accessibility, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The VIP tour page states no ID rule.Citizenship: The VIP tour page states no citizenship rule.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26

      Early Access Tour Open

      What you see
      Exhibits, Visitor center, Inside tourspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      How
      Timed ticket, Groups only · up to 20 people · about 60 minutesspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      When
      A guided 60-minute tour that starts one hour before the center opens to the public; dates are chosen when you buy tickets. The page recommends arriving at least 10 minutes early.Calendar ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Booking
      Required · onlineBook tickets for a date through the Get Tickets button. Changes and refunds need two weeks' notice.Book (spacecenter.org) ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Cost
      PaidTicketed; the price isn't shown. Includes reserved access to the first Astronaut Training Facility tram tour.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Requirements
      • Minimum age: No. The page says these tours are welcome for all ages.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The page states no ID rule.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26

      Private Guided Group Tour Open

      Visits to NASA Johnson Space Center areas depend on availability.

      What you see
      Exhibits, Inside tourspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      How
      Private guided tour, By arrangement · up to 8 people · about 3 hoursspacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      When
      A three-hour private tour on a date and time you pick when you buy it; the itinerary is set with a crew member afterwards.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Booking
      Required · online or by emailBuy a date and time online; a crew member then emails to plan the route. The page recommends booking at least 2 weeks ahead. Changes and refunds need two weeks' notice.Book (spacecenter.org) ↗spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Cost
      PaidTicketed; the price isn't shown.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26
      Requirements
      • Minimum age: No. The page lists age restrictions as none.
      Not stated on the official page: photo ID, citizenship, residency, height, fitness and accessibility, safety gear, photography, personal details in advance.Photo ID: The page states no ID rule.spacecenter.org, 2026-10-26

      About

      Space Center Houston is the public visitor center for NASA's Johnson Space Center and is run as a nonprofit. General admission covers its exhibits and theaters and also gives access to open-air tram tours onto the working NASA campus: a campus loop, the Astronaut Training Facility, and Rocket Park with its Saturn V. A fourth tram tour, to the restored Historic Mission Control, costs extra and must be booked online ahead. Paid early-access and private guided tours also exist, and the weekday VIP tour is currently listed as unavailable.

      Run by: Space Center Houston (a nonprofit; the official visitor center of NASA Johnson Space Center).

      Where official pages disagree

      Getting there

      1601 NASA Parkway, Houston, TX, 77058

      Parking costs $10 plus a service fee and is paid by phone using QR codes posted in the lot. All bags are screened by security before you enter.

      The pin marks the visitor entrance (29.55190, -95.09830). Show on our map · Google Maps · Apple Maps

      Reservations (groups, VIP and early access tours): +1 281-283-4755Accessibility questions: +1 281-244-2147

      Last checked 2026-10-26. Sources are listed below.

      Sources

      Out of date or wrong? Write to hello@industrytours.net.